Cardiff Business Award Finalists Announced

The shortlist for the fifth annual Cardiff Business Awards has been announced today, with no less than 44 organisations or individuals in contention for sixteen prestigious awards.

Since launching in 2015, the awards have become one of the highest profile and well-attended in the capital. Unique on the business awards calendar, these are the only awards to recognise those organisations and leaders who have made the greatest impact on the Cardiff, regional and wider UK economy over the last 12 months.

The winners of each category, as well as the Cardiff Business of the Year, will be announced at the awards evening which will be held on Friday 21st June at City Hall, Cardiff and hosted by Sian Lloyd. 

Commenting on this year’s finalists, Professor Dylan Jones-Evans, chair of the judging panel for the Cardiff Business Awards, said: “Cardiff continues to be a magnet for investment, entrepreneurship and innovation and the annual Cardiff Business Awards continue to demonstrate the talent, enterprise and innovation from across the city’s business community”.

Liz Brookes of Grapevine Event Management, organiser of the Cardiff Business Awards, added: “The Cardiff Business Awards are the perfect occasion where the achievements of the capital city’s business community can be celebrated. Yet again, we have received excellent entries from businesses large and small and from across all sectors. All of those who have been shortlisted this year can be immensely proud of their success in business over the last twelve months.”

The shortlist is as follows:

Construction Business of the Year

Euroclad Group
LCB Construction
Mott MacDonald

Creative & Digital Business of the Year, sponsored by University of South Wales

Bad Wolf
Box UK
Illustrate Digital

Employer of the Year, sponsored by CPS Group

Apollo Wales
Howells Solicitors
Illustrate Digital
Pentan Architects

Entrepreneur of the Year, sponsored by Cardiff Metropolitan University

John Rawnsley – CP Hire
Liam Bevan – LCB Construction
Nigel Saunders – Sure Chill
Nick Russill – TerraDat UK

Family Business of the Year

Heath Windows & Doors
Park Plaza Hotel
Pugh’s Garden Village

Financial & Professional Services Business of the Year

Eversheds Sutherland
Howells Solicitors
Mott MacDonald
Rio Architects

Green Business of the Year

Amber Energy
Eversheds Sutherland
Genesis Biosciences

Community Business of the Year, sponsored by ICAEW

Cardiff & Vale Credit Union
FOR Cardiff

Innovation Business of the Year, sponsored by Welsh Government

Genesis Biosciences
Sure Chill
We Build Bots

International Business of the Year, sponsored by Eversheds Sutherland

CJCH Solicitors
Euroclad Group
Object Matrix

Leisure, Hospitality & Retail Business of the Year

Artisan Interiors
Future Inn Cardiff
Laura May Bridal
Pugh’s Garden Village

SME of the Year, sponsored by Yard

Amber Energy
CP Hire
CPS Group (UK)

Social Enterprise of the Year

Cardiff & Vale Credit Union
RCMA Social Enterprise

Start-Up Business of the Year, sponsored by Spectrum Internet

bedigital professional services
Hoop Recruitment
LINKS Recruitment Group
SamePage Group

Technology Business of the Year, sponsored by Lexis Nexis Risk Solutions

Object Matrix
Uprise VSI

Young Business Person of the Year, sponsored by CP Hire

Jenny Evans – Jenny Kate
Katherine Jones – Katherine Jones Artist
Jonathan Day – Wash Cycle

The 2019 awards are sponsored by some of the city’s most prominent businesses, including: NatWest (headline sponsor), Bluegg, Cardiff Council, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cleartech Live, CP Hire, CPS Group, Evershed Sutherland, ICAEW, LexisNexis Risk Solutions, Spectrum Internet, University of South Wales, Welsh Government, Yard Digital.

The awards ceremony will be held on 21st June 2019 at City Hall, Cardiff. For more information, please visit https://cardiffbusinessawards.... 

< Back to 2019 Awards

Other Articles from these Awards